Posted on

Training 4/8/2013

Took a impromptu break from training last week. Left shoulder wasn’t happy, wasn’t recovering from my workouts and life stressors were at a all-time high.  I’ve learned over the years that pulling back sometimes is better than pushing through stuff. In hindsight I would have scaled back to Pavel’s “Program Minimum”

My solution to all of this is to give pressing movements a break for 4 weeks and substitute 5 minutes of continuous Turkish Get ups instead. I will push conditioning work on my off days and make Snatches the emphasis over the next 4 weeks.

For pulling movements I am going to use Pavel’s “Fighter Pullup” Program to continue improving my pulling strength. After today’s workout I am thinking that 2 separate sessions might be needed to maximize the benefits of the Pull-up program. We’ll see…

The Workout

SMR – Feet, Calves, Glute/Pirifomis, Upper Back
Quadruped Rockback x 8
Quadruped Extension/Rotation x 8ea
Bear Crawl Forward/Back 10 yards
Tall Kneeling Halo

Pull-ups: (I planed for 10,9,8,7,6) but actually did 10,9,8,5,5

Get-ups 5 minutes continuous with the 24kg

10 minutes of Snatches with the 16kg 20/20, 15/15, 10/10

Note: Dialing back 30% on the pull-ups for next workout and using that as my starting point. I am more concerned with the quality of my reps and the first couple of sets looked good but fatigue set in quickly. I need to also think about having a fixed rest time… Maybe I am over thinking a bit.

I might need to do my Get-ups before my Pull-ups as my forearms were shot before I was able to get to them. This might not be a bad thing.

My warm up and movement prep felt good today. I will use this set up for as long as possible.

Feels good to be back.

Leave a Reply

